The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What is your acceptable spike after eating? When trying new foods? How long should I test after eating? I have seen where it is 1hr and 2hr's after eating. Any longer than that?

I am new to the LCHF lifestyle (I don't like the word diet). I am trying to build a database of foods that I should and shouldn't eat. It doesn't mean I can't eat them, just find an acceptable amount to be able to eat if possible. Like if a cup of corn gives me a 40 point spike, then a 1/2 cup should only give me a 20 point spike. Does it correlate like that?

All advice is welcome and thank you!

·
Registered
1,491 Posts
For ME Never over 140 so a spike of 40 if I start under 100 is OK. I check at the time that MY BG hits its highest level after eating (spike) 1 hour.

·
Premium Member
9,421 Posts
I did a lot of what you are doing when I first started testing for my diabetes. It took a while of experimenting - sometimes just for curiousity's sake - to build up a list of safe foods and portion size for those with more carbs.

The key for me was knowing the carb count - in grams of what my serving was. To take your example. If you knew the carb grams of that 1 cup of corn, then you could assume that another food choice with the same amount of carb grams would raise your BG about the same.

In the beginning it takes a lot of testing. But you could go at it from another angle. Decide upon a limit of carbs for each time you eat. Measure and count the grams. A good starting point would be no more than 12 grams carbs at a time (from which you would tweak according to what your meter reads). Knowing what your individual carb tolerance per meal/snack allows you to make choices within this range without having to test so much.