The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello. I'm a fit college student wondering if I have diabetes. I am a division 1 wrestler so I am in shape and only about 10-12% body fat, but my symptoms seem congruent with those of diabetes. My biggest concern is chest pain and shortness of breath, especially after I eat a lot or eat a meal and then lay down. I take very deep, heavy breathes. I first began feeling this a year ago after I put on about 15 pounds of muscle (and some fat) and thought my body was adjusting to being bigger. I got my heart monitored and there were no irregularities. I also am getting very tired throughout the day, even falling asleep in class. I get headaches fairly consistently mid-afternoon if I don't eat lunch. Do you think that I should be worried about diabetes at all? Thanks for the input

·
Diabetic
2,680 Posts
You could get some simple blood tests done to rule out your doubts one way or the other.

That said, I don't think those symptoms are connected to high blood sugars. Maybe there's something else going on with your fatigue & breathlessness. A visit to a Dr is what is called for.

·
Registered
5,399 Posts
As SKB says above, those don't sound like diabetic symptoms. They do, however, sound like something you need to get checked out ASAP.

As for diabetes ... the best way to check for possible diabetes (whilst awaiting a doctor's diagnosis) is to buy a meter and some strips, and test before and after meals. Two post-meal tests, approximately 1 hour and 2 hours after first bite, should give you some idea. You'll also want to test upon waking, to get your fasting number.

Please let us know how things go with your doc -- diabetes or no!

·
Registered
45 Posts