Diabetes Forum banner
  • Welcome! Are you ready to join the discussions? Click here!

Another Newbie! Hello!

3K views 20 replies 9 participants last post by  onlymep 
#1 ·
Good afternoon,

This is my first time here and I am so glad to find some information. I was only diagnosed 3 days ago and at this point I am terrified. I had to visit the ER for an unrelated matter and after having a urine test done, the nurse came in and asked if I was diabetic. I said, no. She advised that there were sugar crystals in my test and she was going to take my blood sugar reading. It read 15! So then blood work was ordered and I was seen by the doctor. He advised me that I was very likely type II diabetic, although I had had no symptoms, and that I should follow up with my family doctor. After giving me a prescription for infection, he sent me on my way.

Just after I got home, the hospital called and advised me that my blood test had shown a reading of 18, and therefore the doctor wanted me on medication right away. By this time I was reeling!!! So he prescribed Metformin twice a day and told me to tell my doctor about it when I see him next week. And that's where it has been left.

I am overwhelmed. I am scared to eat. I am scared to drink anything other than water, and the Metformin has left me feeling really icky and I am having headaches that I never have. My world feels like it has turned upside down!

I have no idea when I can see a dietician. I have no idea what to eat and when. I have been looking on the internet for two days and there is so much information and so much contradictory information that I don't know where to start. I just wish somebody would say, "Here, eat this and this and this, at this time of day, and this is what you should do". I have read "eat carbs", then I read "don't eat carbs", and then I read "eat protein" and the next thing says "watch how much protein you eat". How do I know???