The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been using the AccuChek CP for 2 years. I find it bulky to carry around. Plus the only computer link is thru a proprietary setup that is expensive. I switched to the Bayer USB and found it to be a great size and easy to upload. The problem is this:

Accu-Chek Reading: 145, 145, 142
Bayer-USB Reading: 182, 212, 172

From the same drop of blood, same finger. Are you kidding me? That's a 50 point difference!

I took the readings alternating between the two. AC, USB, AC, USB and so on.

So I tried it again and again and again over the course of many days and the results are the same 7 out of 10 times the Bayer USB 1) reads wildly and 2) is way different than the consistent readings of the AccuChek.

In summary, I don't know what to believe but since the AccuChek is consistent, I go with that. What a pain and a waste of money.

Can anyone tell me they believe their meter to be 1) accurate and 2) consistent?

Thanks, Mike

·
Registered
4,368 Posts
When I switched to the Contour USB from the One Touch I found the opposite problem. My One Touch tests much higher than my USB.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks. I just spoke with the Bayer company and they went thru the logs of my meter for errors and administration stuff. They claim I was not using it properly. Their claim is that I should only touch the strip to the bubble of blood holding the meter down (vertically) and if i touch the strip to my skin it will pick up contaminants on the skin and give a mis-read. I will continue to test as I have (using both meters) and see if the results become consistent and similar.

Personally, the bubble of blood that is on the skin already *has* the contaminants in it so I don't foresee a change. Time will tell, I will continue to use both and see if it's user error or not.

I'll post my results in a few days. -Mike

·