The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everybody

First, I'm sorry for my bad english but IM from Quebec (Canada) and I usally speak french.

I'm a 29 years old gir, I'm a nurse and I'm a mom and I'm pregnant of my second baby (8 monts). I had diabetes before I got pregnant and I took insulin regurlarly but since I got pregnant, my life became horrible. People knows my story here in Quebec but nobody can help me, even my own doctor. Maybe someone here will be able to help me.

I have a severe insulin resistance. I take over 2220 units (cc) of insuline per day!!!!
By injection:
before breakfast: 390 units
before diner: 530 units
before super: 700 units
before sleep: 30 units

by insulin pump: 600 units

Doctors says that they never saw that in the past and they are trying to help me the best they can but sincerely, I'm not able to handle that. I fed up and I'm really tired. I have so much pain on my body.

Please, if you know someone who had a similar experience, please tell me!!!

Thank you vey much!

·
Registered
1,077 Posts
Hi There Shannah:

First I have to say....are you Kidding?? I've heard of someone
taking 250 units but that's about it. Your English is Fine.

Edit: I did run across a Guy that takes 600 units daily.
God Bless you's.

What Insulins are you on? Are you on pills also? What are your
sugars like?

You are in Montreal? They have some of the Best Drs. in Quebec
there. There is the U-500 Insulin.

If you are 8 mths. pregnant and having a Bad time with your
Diabetes, it would be most logical for them to do a c-section and
to put your Baby in the Preemie Care Unit.

A Baby is able to be delivered successfully and do well at 25-26 weeks.

I wish you and your Baby well. :) You're Welcome.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi Terry