The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,

So I have been faithfully checking my blood sugars 7 times a day (my poor fingers:() for the last 2 weeks. I've noticed a little trend that I'm not happy with and need help fixing (hopefully).

I am testing before each meal (breakfast, lunch and supper) and 2 hours post and again at bedtime.

I notice that I have a bit higher BGL after eating breakfast- THIS makes sense to me - but that it increases MORE before my lunch... and then drops 2 hours after lunch and drops some more before supper.

I am eating low carb... scrambled eggs have been breakfast - sometimes with cheese in it. Lunch has been salads with chicken or raw nuts and supper has been some variety of meat and steamed vegetables. I'm still learning the low carb way and havent gotten a lot of variety in my meals yet. (something for me to work on).

Is this a dietary thing, a body adjustment thing?? Is there any way I can "control" this better?

Also... when my levels go up after a meal, how much is a reasonable amount and how much is unreasonable?? (I'm Cdn :canada:, so values in mmols would be appreciated:))

So much learned already.... yet WAY so much more to know :confused:

I anticipate your responses!

(PS - I'm liking these smilies)

·
Registered
5,911 Posts
Protein is converted by the liver into glucose at about a 65% rate. Some Type 1's calculate an added dose of meal insulin for protein.

Are you on metformin? It slows gluconeogenesis.

·
Anti-Man Made Carbs!
1,891 Posts
If you aren't happy with your numbers, you can always cut down on your portions.

·
Registered
4,368 Posts