The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone
I was diagnosed with type 2 about 4 weeks ago and at present I take Metformin 500 x 2 daily and next week it will increase to 3 daily.
Today I got up as usual and had a bowl of Special K with skimmed milk and a cup of tea this was at about 8.00am I had nothing again and at 11.15 I went very clammy and then started to sweat pretty well excessively so I had a cup of tea a banana, 1 square of diabetic chocolate a 3 rich tea biscuits as I am very new to this complain can anyone please advise me what was wrong with me and why this happened and did I do the correct thing in eating what I did and why didn't the tablets stop this from happening as this happened a few times before I was diagnosed, I have asked the nurse for a blood meter but she seems to avoid me having one and to be honest I don't really understand what my readings should be before or after meals.
Sorry it's a long message but any help would be very much appreciated
best regards
Barbara xx

·
Registered
24,394 Posts
Welcome back, Barbara. If your nurse isn't forthcoming with a meter, my advice is to get one yourself from a drugstore or somewhere else. I don't know what is available in the UK, but many chain stores in the US carry their own brands of meters & strips for very low prices.

If you can't test when these spells come upon you, there is no way to know how to treat them. The metformin tablets do not work immediately like many drugs. You must take them regularly and it takes several weeks for it to build up in your system. But they ARE working, so don't stop taking them.

You will need to adjust your diet quite a bit until you know how foods affect you. I think the cereal, milk, bananas and biscuits are not helping you right now. These are foods which many diabetics cannot eat because they elevate our blood sugars.