The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone. I have been learning a lot here for the past couple of weeks and finally decided to introduce myself. I was diagnosed with type 2 in early august of this year. I had been hiding from it for years by not going to the doctor. I had gestational diabetes with both of my pregnancies and have been overweight for most of my life. I had to go to the gynecologist for an infection that would not go away and she sent me for blood work suspecting D. Sure enough, that was it. I am a teacher, so this could not have come at a worse time. Went to the doctor, A1C was 9.5. He gave me metformen, a glucose monitor, gave me handful of pamphlets, and said something about carb counting. I cried and could not bring myself to say the words, " I have diabetes" . I told my husband and best friend that my sugar was a little high.

One of the blessings turned out to be that I was so busy with work, I did not have time to look at the pamphlets the doctor gave me. I just decided I was going to eat as low carb as possible. I went back to the dr. After 4 weeks. I had lost 11 pounds and my numbers were
down some but he upped my dose of met to 1000. It was about this
time things calmed down in my life and I started searching for more
information on the internet. I First read here about the lc/hf and
what the Ada and most doctors recommend. In fact my doctor told me that my AC1 needs to be under 7. I read a lot of the articles linked here and began making some of my own goals.