Diabetes Forum banner
  • Welcome! Are you ready to join the discussions? Click here!

Correction Bolus Dosages

5K views 4 replies 4 participants last post by  breezeonby 
#1 ·
I am a T2 that seemingly cannot produce any insulin anymore. Been aware of diabetes since diagnosed in 1994. Probably had high BSL's for a decade before that. Had gestational diabetes years ago.

I have been reading "Think Like a Pancreas" and "Using Insulin". Great books! Scared me at first as even though I have a uni degree, there is a lot of math required to get dosages right for both basal (I use Lantus) and bolus( I use NovoRapid) dosages.

Using their methods of calculation, I reduced the basal by 4 units last night, and I am upping the bolus dosages. I feel victorious because this was the first night in the five weeks since I started on Lantus, that I have had a good deep sleep and no hypo during the night! Yet my morning fasting BSL was perfect!

The two books have not clarified for me though -

With correction bolus dosages, do you do that correction when you are next taking insulin at a meal, or do you do the correction when you find your BSL is sky-high two hours after a meal?

#2 ·
((((Annieliese)))) Can I just jump in here & say how wonderful it is to hear you got the combination last night & slept like a log?! And woke up with good FBG?! I can't answer your question since I don't take insulin yet, but it's just music to my ears (oops! eyes!) to know you didn't go low last night & the rewards were so great!

:cheer2: :cheer2:

#3 ·