The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am confused. Do I buy fat free, low fat or regular when it comes to these products? Also, low fat cheese or regular cheese? Are the cream cheese spreads okay to use?

·
Registered
5,911 Posts
Cream cheese is great for me.

Yogurt, cottage cheese ... not so good. Read labels, by brand, and test like mad.

I LOVE cottage cheese, too!:(

·
Anti-Man Made Carbs!
1,891 Posts
Never buy "low fat" anything, just a fancy way of adding more crap into something that doesnt need messing with

Reactions: Cricket

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks so much for the info. I'm very new at this and still learning. I can't check my levels yet as not seeing the doc until this coming week. Was diagnosed by default in ER late last week and put on Metformin in the meantime so no idea what my numbers are. But I have gone very low carb and starting to learn all I can in the meantime. Also have given up all sugar and anything white.

Thanks again.

·
Registered
4,368 Posts
I buy the full fat version, if possible. I like to buy the organic full fat sour cream and cream cheese. I used to be able to eat greek yogurt, but now it does spike me over 120. I don't have good luck with cottage cheese, plus it has a lot of sodium in it. I would rather eat Ricotta Cheese. I do eat a lot of hard cheeses and have no problem.

·
Registered
24,394 Posts
I use the full fat versions of all those dairy products and I also use full fat mayonnaise, as well as heavy whipping cream to use instead of milk. I dilute the cream with water for anything that calls for milk, and it has never disappointed me.

·
Registered
62 Posts
I use the full fat versions of all those dairy products and I also use full fat mayonnaise, as well as heavy whipping cream to use instead of milk. I dilute the cream with water for anything that calls for milk, and it has never disappointed me.