The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
782 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! Newbie here. My thread title is a play on the title sasch12 used to introduce herself: prediabetic and scared out of my mind....hello.

Plus it's true. I'm a 56-year-old type 2 diabetic who probably isn't scared enough. :eek: I was diagnosed about 2 years ago when a routine blood test showed a fasting bg of ~140, and a follow-up A1c was 7.2. For several months I ate right, lost weight, and watched my A1c fall to 6.7, then 6.6, and then ... and then ... I quit paying attention to that or much of anything else except my parents, who were critically ill and in my care.

Daddy died of Parkinsons -- at home with my mother, husband, our children, and me -- in September 2010. My mother -- a ventilator-dependent quadriplegic, who also lived with us -- died of March 2011. I spent the next few months dealing with my emotions and the stacks of paperwork that come with being the executrix of two estates simultaneously, but not paying enough attention to my physical well-being. It wasn't till about 2 weeks ago that I went to the nurse at work for a random bg and found it at 296 that I got back in the saddle.

I'm now taking Janumet 50/500 twice a day, monitoring my bg religiously, and counting calories in hopes that losing lots o' pounds will bring my diabetes under control without meds. I'll keep using them if I have to, but I'd like to not have to. Right now, I'm 5'10" and weigh 280 lbs, down a teensy bit from 285 two weeks ago. Go me! My fasting bg is also falling: 168, 178, 177, 170, 160, 147, 151, 145, 160, 135, 120, 113, 114. Go me, again! There's still much progress to be made, but at least I've found the path and convinced myself to take the journey.