The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
after being told i have diabetes and after 8 months of diet and exersise and my last a1c at 8.4 my Dr. wants to put me on meds. i was really trying to avoid it but my bg numbers range from 130-150 and 2hr after meals at 160-200. my first morning reading is 140 to 170. i understand why my Dr. wants me on meds. the Dr. wants me to take 500mg metformin twice a day.
after i picked up the script and read the side effects it really scares me to start taking it. on top of everything else the label says ''no alcohol''. i don't drink but 1 glass of wine every night and i have been doing that for 20+ years. kind of like my 2 cups of tea in the morning, i would hate to go without that.
since my diagnosis it seem like a downhill slide with all the changes, emotions, and stresses it has brought into my life.
i'm thinking of just really restricting my diet and calories to get my numbers right. it would be really hard but the alternative looks scary.

G

·
What is your current diet? If you've been sticking strictly to a LC/HF diet, I'd have expected your BGs to come down further than that in 8 months.

Why not try both taking metformin and sticking to the LC/HF diet and then see if you can gradually remove the metformin after you've been well within the normal BG range for long enough for your doctor to consider that safe.

The longer you stay up in the diabetic range, the more chance you have of getting complications, and to me, that would be more scary than taking a medication that millions of people have been taking safely for a long time.

·
Super Moderator
6,162 Posts
Did your doc prescribe the extended release (ER) metformin? That typically is much easier on the gastric system. I had big problems before I switched to the ER - and even then it took a bit of time to adjust. I'm fine now and take 500 mg x4.