The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am not a professional in the medical field, so these are my own problems with response to drugs, not necessarily everyone else's. The problem is I take Atacand (an ACE inhibitor if I understand correctly), but it is only slightly effective (if at all) in lowering blood pressures (160/95 range). Diuretics, were very effective at lowering, but caused blood glucose readings to be crazy -- no trending and no equilibrium. Glucose testing about 5-6 times a day. Stopped that and glucose levels are back to as normas as possible for type 1 since 1986.

Then trien Amlodipine which did not reduce BP and caused restless leg syndrome along with a "hot" overall feeling. Couldn't rest well at all.

Now using Metoprolol (beta-blocker) but have found that I can experience blood sugar lows and not even have the usual shaking, sweating, weakness at early onset that signals me to intake glucose. While that might sound great, I awoke last night drenched in sweat and confused -- well into more severe indications and still no usual shaking, just very weak and confused.

Fourth try and have not found a drug that does not have serious side effects for type 1. There are so many out there, and I apologize knowing that different meds affect people differently. Still, I want to take advantage of others' experience and knowledge base -- is there something out there that actually works and does not affect diabetes adversely? I also have to avoid hypertension meds that cause ED since I have Peyronie's disease.

Thank you in advance,

reido

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Adieu to Metoprolol