The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
718 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Finding out that when I don't eat any intentional carbs - that I'm hanging out in the 70s most of the day. I realize it's not hypo, but part of me wonders if it's okay? Considering I'm nursing a baby, it worries me a little more than it would if I wasn't. I do eat a piece of fruit here and there. Mostly it's protein, fats, dairy and loads of veggies. I do feel a little shaky sometimes. Would it be better to stay in the 80s?

I'm talking about in between meals, not the postprandial which is usually in the 80-90 range. I'm in the 70s before I eat.

·
Registered
718 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
For example... I was 75 before I ate... and a good 30-45 minutes later I'm at 74.

·
Premium Member
6,162 Posts
You are managing your diabetes via diet, and not going low, right?

I have no medical knowledge to contribute on your nursing consideration, but it sounds to me like your body is behaving as if it's a normal body - and I'm envious!

In your shoes, unless I found medical evidence that there was a reason not to be normal, I'd keep doing what I was doing admirably well.

Did I mention envy?

·
Registered
718 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
LOL, I know many people would love to have my numbers. I guess I just worry it could be too low... before when I'd get to the 70s I'd eat something, but I was on medication and I knew I'd be in the 60s if I didn't. I'm not on any medication... just eating right and I haven't seen anything under 70 in a while.

So 70s are "normal" and not too low, then.

I used to have hangups about low-carb while nursing b/c every site advises against it... then I realized for thousands of generations, humans has a species didn't really eat carbs (other than fruit and starchy veg)anyway and had healthy babies who grew strong on breast milk. I'm still a little wary, but I don't seem to have any issues yet.