The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a university researcher investigating the different types of glucometers available in the market and how well they satisfy patient needs.
Firstly I?d like to get some of your opinions on the glucometers you use and what factors influenced your choice?

Secondly, if you had the opportunity to influence the design of future glucometers that would be released into the market:
? What kind of features would you like them to have that they don?t currently possess?
? What extra information on blood glucose monitoring do you want your glucometers to provide?

Your contribution would be very valuable. I would also be willing to show you the results obtained from the survey I?m carrying out on current glucometers.

Thanks.

·
Registered
3,024 Posts
I am 68 and have been diabetic for 62 years. I have trouble with arthritis and my eyesight when I am doing close-up work. It is very awkward for me to open a vial of strips and handle them properly and separate one from the group and insert it without touching the spots where the blood is to be placed. I tend to drop them frequently and sometimes spill the whole container of strips on the floor or in my lap. I like the Relion meter sold at Walmart. The strips are individually wrapped and it is so much easier to work with them.

I would like a meter that gives me 7, 14 and 30 day averages and also the standard deviation for each of those periods of time. The standard deviation is a very meanibgful statistic but I don't think many diabetics even know what it is. I have to use my calculator and compute my own but it is very time consuming. Some insulin pump brands have a standard deviation option. I use the Minimed and it does not have that feature.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·