The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What's the most accurate meter to you? A long time ago I had some key chain $20 thing from walmart and it almost always gave me the number I felt like. (ie if I felt low i was right...) but in a small town walmart doesn't really have all the options. It's either that or cvs. But anyway, I bought another meter recently and I swear if I uncross my legs or blink my reading can change 30 points. I can dab blood and get 108, and know that isn't right so I do it again and it's 137. Any suggestions on how to feel comfortable with a reading...or a meter that seems to work like it should?

·
Super Moderator
6,161 Posts
Maybe using a control solution to see if meter and strips are within range? I haven't done that myself - but then I'm still a newbie.

My Accu-chek Aviva seems pretty consistent, and when I get my next A1C I'll see if it seems accurate. The Reli-On I got from Walmart has been all over the place and not at all in sync with the Accu-chek so I stopped using it. Others have had great success with it so probably I should get some solution to check it with.

It's frustrating that meters have such a large margin of error - 10-20%. In spite of it, I tend to put great stock in rises and falls of 10 points even though I know better.

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
That's what I have! The reli-on and I swear it's a coin toss. Im on the iPhone app so i just found the treatment forum (please forgive me!) I'm looking into the accuchek though

·
Registered
24,394 Posts