The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All,

For several months now I've been dealing with my fingernails splitting and developing hangnails OUCH.Pretty frustraiting.

Could diabetes be the root cause, or am I missing something"supplement" from my diet? I've tried my wifes nail hardener, emery boards, clippers but can only go so low.

Anybody?

·
Registered
916 Posts
my nails are the same. Dry & they have ridges & split. Hangnails too.
what makes it worse for me is I have been a Nail tech/manicurist for the past 20 yrs :p.

Doc told me & I already knew , its from age. I am over the hill now :eek:hwell: my Mom & grandmom had the same type of nails.Neither of them had 'd'. My dads side of the family it was rampent.

I could put back on artificial nails if I wanted the hassle, but I don't. so I just keep them oiled & 'clip' the hangnails & file my natural nails short.

I also will use a ridge filling base coat/polish from time to time. doesn't stay on long. Chips right off.

just use some good oil. rub it in good & often..

·
Registered
24,394 Posts
I get hangnails so much that I keep the clippers right beside my easy chair & the laptop. My nails have always been like this - I was a nail-biter until I hit my teens & finally stopped chewing the nails off, but still can't leave the cuticles alone. If I don't get them clipped quickly, I'll tear 'em off with my teeth & we all know how that goes! :rolleyes:

·
Premium Member
6,162 Posts
I've always had soft, splitting nails, and a friend introduced me to Nailtiques Nail Protein Forumla 2. It's awesome! (when I keep up with it.)

I get it at CVS but you can get it online or probably lots of places. Not cheap, but worth it if nails are a problem. I had tried everything.

·
Registered
1,557 Posts