The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have three weeks to make a decision. My iPhone and the Libre 2 sensors I have been using for the last 6 months. The readings have been spotty. Once or twice a day I get an error message when trying to scan. I get past that by hitting okay and then trying again. Usually does not get the error message twice in a row. I have heard that an iPhone updated to the latest iOS has issues but it seems silly not to keep an iPhone up to date.

So my decision is, until they get the dedicated Abbott reader available in Canada for the Libre 2 system, do I stick with the flaky behavior of the app on the iPhone or do I switch/downgrade to the previous Libre Sensors and the dedicated Abbott Reader that I already have.

Does using a dedicated reader produce more consistent results? I do not use the alarms at all so if that is the only real difference, then it is a difference that I do not use

I would very much appreciate reactions and opinions to what I am thinking of doing. Am I crazy or does this make sense?

·
Administrator
2,619 Posts
Hi, liam! Welcome to the forum!

We do have some Libre users here; I hope they join the conversation and relate their experiences. I don't use one.

But the question I would ask is, are you using the Libre to manage your BG real-time or are you using it more out of curiosity or a desire to have more frequent readings than you would with finger sticks? I'd be inclined to put up with occasional wonkiness if the Libre was a convenience; much less so if it meant potential issues with hypos because it glitched.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·