The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all.

I have been using the Freestyle Libre sensor for almost 2 years now and it has been wonderful. I have been able to control my BG better and my A1c shows that. So now I actually got in with an Endocrinologist for the first time in 13 years and she has encouraged me to continue using the sensor.

Here comes the situation and the question. I have been paying out of pocket the entire time for the sensors, my insurance out-of-pocket maximum is met for the year and I would love it if insurance would finally pay for the sensors. When we submitted the request to insurance (Anthem) they said it was denied because I have to show a history of not being able to control my A1c in order to qualify. Unlimited finger sticks is perfectly fine, but something that works better with a very similar cost is denied. Having the sensors are what has enabled me to control my A1c (6.4 at last visit) up to this point. At my worst I reached 10+.

Does anyone have any tips/tricks to get insurance to start covering something that I have been using already for 2 years? Thanks.

·
Administrator
2,578 Posts
Your contract (if you will) with Anthem should include a description of how to appeal a rejected claim. It probably also includes information on which medical devices like the Libre they cover (and to what extent).

Enlist your endo and your general practitioner, if possible, to write the appeal on your behalf. I'm sorry, but their words, with the letters after their names, will carry more weight with the insurance company than yours. If they can illustrate that the superior BG control of the Libre supports your particular medical condition, and you can show Anthem that they're covering unlimited finger sticks adding up to the same cost as the Libre, you have your best shot (no pun intended).

Others with ideas? Others who have fought the same fight?