1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,
I have decided to seek others advice.

I am a truck driver, over the road.

I cannot get my FBS under 130 to 150. but i run about 6.6.

I am 6'7" weigh about 265, down from 295, need to get to 220ish.

Food on the road is crap at best.

Stress is incredible, exercise is near impossible, hours are long and eating is not able to be set times.

Jim
Metformin 1000mg 2x

·
Registered
165 Posts
Hi all,

Stress is incredible, exercise is near impossible, hours are long and eating is not able to be set times.

Jim
Metformin 1000mg 2x
wow very sorry for your troubles. couple ideas - can you pack and carry low carb foods w/ in a cooler? and probably not a popular choice but have you thought about another career?

·
Registered
1,491 Posts
I have similar issues, I normally now run in the 5.5 - 6.5 (99 - 117) range in the daytime, even 2 hrs post meals... But my fasting readings are often higher.

What I've found though is mine are happening due to liver-dump (<-- article in the link) as I'm not high (and am lower than normal) during the night.

In fact, if I set and alarm and test 2-3 hours PRIOR to my normal waking time, my readings are in the 4.5 - 5.0 (81-90) range. As such, I don't worry about it too much, although it does bother me... I just haven't figured out a way to counter the liver-dump/dawn phenomenon yet... hopefully I do someday.

As for food on the road ... I find that tough also. I've started keeping a jar of nuts and a couple of granny smith apples in my truck so I can have a small snack in-between meals. At fast-food places I've now ordered burgers (or grilled chicken sandwiches) WITHOUT buns or ketchup (some look at me funny, some don't) and get a knife/fork for it. The best obviously is to take some prepared food in a cooler, etc... but that takes time and getting in the habit of doing it.

Good luck!

·
Registered
24,394 Posts