The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i have recently started seeing a endo, started new meds, exercising, the works and i still cant get my numbers down. all this work and my numbers staying high is getting to me, i dont know what to do. i recently started taking symlin, had no side effects what so ever not even nasua or however you spell it, even at the 60 mcg maint. dose. i am eating much less than i was before starting it, tried less insulin as advised when i started it. now im back to taking full doses of symlin and back on my normal dose of novolog at meals ajusted to my glucose numbers and my numbers still wont go down. i am active at home and work. i walk when i get home from work, and i am constantly walking at work non stop from the time i get there to the time i leave, im a correctional officer and primarily work ad seg where i constantly make rounds, im serious i dont stop walking, if im not walking im running. i dont know what to do. im loosing my mind.

·
Registered
741 Posts
I guess the only way to analyse this is by giving us an example of what you eat on a daily basis...maybe we can help from there

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
For breakfast I typically have a small bowl of fiber one about 30 carbs, then lunch I have a ham and cheese sandwich or half aplain pb sandwich or a glucerna smart shake and one mini carb smart bar no more than 30 carbs for any choice and dinner usually consist of a some type of broiled meat with green beans and either small portion of mashed potatoes or ranch style beans. I am such of the repetition

·
Registered
1,444 Posts
Bradley, unfortunately for most of us diabetics mashed potatoes, bread (in your sandwich) and the carbs in fiber 1 will never let our numbers go down.

How about you experiment your dinner. Have the same and replace the mashed potatoes/beans (high carbs) with mashed cauliflower or more meat ?