The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Everyone :)

My name is Fifi. I am a 29 yr old woman form South Australia in Australia. I am a social worker and I currently work with people who have complex mental health issues; I love my work and am very passionate about assisting my clients in their move towards independance.

I love to read (fiction and non fiction) and listen to music (from classical to metal to Indie). I am quite eclectic. I collect elephants (statues, soft toys etc) and as my younger sister is an artist I have started getting involved in the art scene also.

I was diagnosed with Type 2, 3 weeks ago now. Type 2 is in my family on my fathers side. Both his parents had Type 2 and one of his younger sisters had Type 2 which progressed to Type 1.

My Dr is taking things slow for me and at the moment I am on Diamicron 60mgs 1x a day and adjusting my diet :)

So, so far Type 2 has meant adjusting my diet (I was a sugar addict lol) and getting over my phobia of needles... I had not ever had a blood test until my Dr needed to do one to find out what was going on for me. Even pricking my finger takes a gallon of bravery.

I will be joining a gym soon and I am tackling this semi aggressively... I want to get into a good healthy routine and not get slack... :)

Hmm... if you would like to know anything more please dont be shy, say hello :)

much love
~Fi~

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Oh, I guess I should mention how I came to be diagnosed.

In June I was made redundant; I found my current job, which atm is as a support worker for people with complex mental health issues. For this job I had to undergo a physical/ medical. The Dr at the clinic did a urinalysis and found some ketones and consequently referred me on to my family Dr.