The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I knew it, I just knew they have been messing with our seeds and plants. I have been planting a garden for many years and I know how the plants are supposed to act, but this year the plants were acting crazy. They didn't produce much at all, everything was a lot smaller than it should be, and at one point they stopped producing altogether for at least a month, and it wasn't caused by heat, weather or other conditions. My cherry tomato plant which usually produces a zillion times more than I could ever use, did grow tall and lush, but only produced a handful of tomatoes. There isn't even one green one on it right now. That ain't normal.

Please be sure to read the article, this is very serious stuff!

Genetically Modified (GM) Plants and Seeds

·
Registered
1,491 Posts
I get tired of this #### we have been genetically modifying foods for 1000 of years. Its called cross breading and selecting specal plants for there productivity and re planting and cross breading them...and so on. Why do you think an ear of corn is 7" tall and not 2 inches as original. the difference is now we can decide which gene to put in. its much less of a guessing game. And we will get better at it. We used to cross bread plants and hope we got what we want.

·
Registered
24,394 Posts
I'd just like my sweetcorn to taste like corn! Not that I can even eat it anymore, but I remember making corn chowder out of some of the new super sweets years ago, and it didn't even taste like soup. Too sweet!

I'll stick with the heirloom seeds.

·
Registered
4,368 Posts