The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My name is Carlos. As it suggests, I am of Hispanic descent, and - not surprisingly -- a Type 2 diabetic. I am 56 years old and 6'1" tall (1.86m).

My diabetes was discovered about 6 years ago. At the time, my daily routine was a large glass of orange juice in the morning, 6 to 8 cans of regular coke throughout the day, and a large pizza at night with another 2 or 3 cans of coke. I'm a software developer, working from home; so I sat all day.

This went on for about a year. With my diet (or lack of it) and sedentary lifestyle, I had gained around 40 lbs and was weighing 235 lbs.

I found myself taking a leak more and more often, and my vision was deteriorating. I was wearing reading glasses, had my 21-inch monitor at 640 x 480 resolution, and I still couldn't see very well. Driving was becoming dangerous, as I couldn't tell anymore if a traffic light was red or green. I was going blind.

So, I finally went to see a doctor. She was shocked to see my blood glucose level -- it was 35 mmol/l (630 mg/dl) -- and sent me to the hospital right away. At the hospital they wasted no time. They seemed to have a real urgency to bring my blood glucose level down, and they kept pumping things on me until it got to about 14 mmol/l (252 mg/dl).

What followed is probably common to all newly-diagnosed diabetics. The endocrinologist, diabetes education, dietician, ophthalmologist, learning about food and reading labels, expensive strips, finger pricks, lifestyle changes, hypoglycemia, and depression.

After about two months, the vision returned to normal. The depression subsided once I learned more about diabetes and realized that one can lead a fairly normal life and keep the condition under control.