The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was recently diagnosed with diabetes - (2011). I have been collecting data via glucose testing monitoring and using other android applications on my Epic. I will be seeing my doctor in a few weeks to determine whether I am type 1 or 2.

The initial challenge of realizing that I am diabetic was where to go and start on the right path to wellness. The first thing I found after hours of researching, while dealing with the shock of it all after I suspected four years earlier, a Website to "Death to Diabetes" by DeWayne McCulley. It is not free; however, it is worth noting that this is coming from a guy who had first hand experience being a diabetic close to death. I have read parts of his eBook. He also provided some additional information at no cost, which I found very insightful. I am a college student on break now to get my health back under control. I am more of a numbers and data guy, which helps me determine what I read.

To be honest with you, I must admit that I am one of those people who are ignorant to the facts of having diabetes and the effects it has on our body. I have been doing some research since then and it has only been a few weeks that I have started on Metformin (oral pill - 500 mg - 2Xday).

Second, with the glucose testing monitor, I have been testing before/after meals and before bedtime since the last two days. I use the data to input into an android application called "OnTrack," which you can see report(s) and backup to the SD card. The intent here is to recognize the effects of eating and walking (one hour a day). The numbers are impressive.