The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2,771 Posts
Hello and welcome to the forum! I have no experience with the diet you mentioned. I do understand gastrointestional problems. I have gastroparesis, which means that my food digests slowly. It also makes me very nauseated. Good luck with your new diet, that is a great way to start the new year!

·
Registered
2,771 Posts
Thanks Breezeonby and Jwag.
@Breezeonby - I'm at stage where they have ruled out most sinister things. Although gastroenterologist has order ultrasound on my pancreas, liver, & gallbladder. His theory is that it's possible I may have inflammation or gallstones. My pain is on the left... but he says that it could still be gallstones. Mainly because I'm chronically burping all the time too. I have already been given a strong course of antibiotics to kill of any bacterial overgrowth in the gut. The FODMAP diet is to rule out fructose intolerance as the cause. After these two things, if I still have symptoms apparently I will be labelled as having Irrititable Bowel Syndrome. With all the infections I've had I've also had a tonne of antibiotics year after year. Sometimes I wonder if that is what has affected my stomach? Also my problems started (getting infections & digestive problems) when I had 3x gastro viruses within 3 months and I was hospitalised for two of them. It's been a rollercoaster ride ever since.