The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
1,298 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, got my hands on my results today and, to be frank, I am sorely disappointed.

I have been doing the LCHF woe strictly since March 2011, I exercise a minimum of 5 days a week, stopped smoking in January, don't drink and yet I still have not got my HbA1c under 6.0 - today's result. I can't try any harder - I am so gutted. I was so sure I was going to be there this time.

Needless to say the doctor gave me short thrift too when I didn't jump up and down in delight. Definitely, no help coming from that direction to get into the 5s.

:pout:

·
Registered
709 Posts
I am so sorry for your disappointment 6 is still a great result, what was your previous A1C?
I know how hard it is to do your best & give it all you've got but not get the result you were hoping for
Didn't you go through a period of high FBG's ?
Also who knows what's happening while we are asleep or just between meals when we're not testing
I'm sure the changes & sacrifices you've made have been beneficial to your health, you may not be seeing that right now but I'm sure it's paying off & you Will see those benefits down the track
Please don't be disheartened just keep testing & checking your log & keep going
Good luck & lots of hugs

Sent from my iPhone using Diabetes

Reactions: 1970clea

·
Registered
24,394 Posts
Well Clea, for what little it's worth . . . "snap". I was hoping to get into the 5% club last time too, but here I am hung up at 6 also. All we can do is the best we can do, so I just keep eating my low carb & high fats - trying to keep plenty of fluids going in and kicking myself in the pants to exercise. Whatever has snagged us has gotta give way eventually, right?! You hacked that number down a long ways already, so it'll have to drop some more with time.

Stay the course - we'll have to keep each other strong here. :hug:

·
Diabetic
2,680 Posts