The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newbie and wanted to send a big, encouraging hello to everyone. I'm so glad that there's forums like this for people to learn, share, and connect with each other. I'm currently in school studying to be a naturopath, and have 2 dads (step and birth) who were both diagnosed with Type 2 diabetes. My step-father was diagnosed in December of '07 and within 3 months he was off all prescription meds. He was stubborn and chose the "I'll show my doctor a thing or two!" method ;) (Basically, that means he did everything "right"...exercise, no more Little Debbie snack cakes, etc.) My mom and I were both glad that something good finally came of that stubborn streak...lol. My birth father on the other hand refuses to make any changes at ALL. As a result, his health continues to decline which really saddens me :( but I try to offer as much love and support and encouragement as I'm able to. He lives in another state so it's harder to have a good influence on him. Thank you all for being open and sharing your stories! It's wonderful to be a part of this group :)

Blessings!
Holly

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Holly, are you here to get help for your Dads?
Hi Richard,