The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was diagnosed last month with diabetes - I went from taking no medicine to taking a lot of medicine. I saw someone with what looked like a signature block with info on their stats so I created one.
Maybe I will figure out how to use it as a signature block rather than just cut and paste. Don't have all my stats in front of me but will look them up. My insurance keeps the records which is a nice feature. Have only been testing for a couple of weeks seems like my blood sugar goes up and down. Guess it will be explained the next time I see my doctor which is after the holidays. I was reading some on the blog and people use abbreviations that since I am new to this I do not know what they mean. Can people spell out what they are saying rather than us abbreviations that a newbie like me is unfamiliar with or maybe it would be better to build an index of abbreviations associated with diabetes so newbies like me can understand.

Would not let me post my stats says have to have have made 5 posts or more before I can paste my stats which are a picture on Flickr.

Reactions: jwags

·
Registered
1,444 Posts
Welcome to the Forum LuckyLady. Why don't you just post your stats here as a text in your messages. Maybe that can work for the time being...

I know it can be tough with the abbreviations but just ask each time you see a thing you cant understand. We are thinking about building a Index too. Anyways the most common abbreviations are

BG/BS/PBG = Blood Glucose/Blood Sugar/Plasma blood glucose
FBG = Fasting Blood Glucose
HbA1c = Glycosated Hemoglobin

Ask if you are looking for something in particular

By the way welcome to the this great forum !

Tony

·
Registered
24,394 Posts
http://www.diabetesforum.com/diabetes-news/2141-how-about-sticky.html#post9401