The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi
I'm Su from Malaysia. I'm new in managing food for diabetes. Few days ago I bought a glucometer to monitor myself, not because of any doctors advice but because I have a diabetic father, and I'm just worried about my golden years later. Lo and behold, I think, probably, I'm in the prediabetic category.

I'm confused with the new unfamiliar terms and I'm lost in identifying between the safe and the dangerous Malaysian food. I don't understand how at times my fasting sugar goes down to 4.5 but then, like today, it is 7.5. Eratic readings. I'm not on any medications yet. I'm depressed to discover the truth about my blood glucose. Don't want to mention the glucose level after food...(sigh).

This is my first forum, and hoping i can learn from your experience. I'm afraid to see a doctor- coz of covid. That is the last place I wanna go because I'm in the red zone.

·
Super Moderator
1,940 Posts
Hello, Su! I'm glad you joined us here.

I can understand (and shared) your depression over high blood glucose numbers; my dad was diabetic, too. But there are things you can do to improve your condition, and eating better is one of them. Many of us here manage our diabetes by eating foods very low in carbohydrates. That may be a challenge in a country where so many of the meals include noodles or starchy vegetables (like potatoes or onions) or flours that thicken sauces. But if you can cook for yourself, there are several substitutes that can get you by.