The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My name is Jeff, but most people call me "Newman" because of my last name and the character from the Seinfeld series by that name. I am married with no kids, 51 years old as of last week and have been diagnosed with Type II diabetes since November of 2006. I am a high school English teacher and work part-time at night at a junior college, teacher retirees and housewives how to use Microsoft Office products.

Both my parents have diabetes, but I was diagnosed at a much younger age. My father passed away in 1995 due to heart failure and complications with his diabetes. My mother is still alive, living in Des Plaines, IL (where I am originally from). My mother also has trouble with her diabetes, heart disease, and other complications that have her needed 24 assistance.

As for my dealing with my diabetes; I definitely need help. I am not on Insulin, but take high dosages of Metformin and Glipizide, twice a day. I am terrible at remembering to test my blood, but I am good at watching what I eat. I need to exercise, that is one of my biggest issues.

I look forward to reading about others and taking part in discussion on the various topics. Please feel free to dialog with me. And just because I am an English teacher, I will not attempt to correct anybody's spelling or grammar.

Take care, NEWMAN!

·
Registered
43 Posts
Hi! I'm new too. Havent been diagnosed with anything but I know it's a matter of time before my body turns against me. In the short time looking around I have found more information and ideas that any one dr has been able to tell me. The support here is unbelievable too. Welcome :)

·
Registered
24,394 Posts
Hello & welcome, Newman. Thank you for joining us, and thanks for the assurance that you won't be proofreading our posts. :D