The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm new to all of this and ready to take it serious.
I was diagnosed last summer (10) and didn't want to take it serious so stopped the diet and meds.

While at the store one day recently I
had met a man who was talking to the checker telling her he would be dead within the year and he wouldn't be around much more to visit her.
He had just gotten out of surgery after getting a heart stint and they wanted to put a feeding tube in him since his body was no longer working right. He denied and said he was tired of it all he was done.
I had to ask what happened to him and he told me it was diabetes complications.
I know by the look I gave him he saw my fear and asked if I was diabetic. I said yeah but I haven't done anything about it.

He went on to tell me all the things that had happened to him...loosing a kidney...a couple toes were amputated and he raised his pant leg to show me all the sores on his legs...his hands are painful all day and he has to get shots in his eyes.

He has had three heart surgeries and now his stomach was no longer able to digest food properly.
His advice to me was well taken after he told me all of his many complications and the pain he was in.

He was diagnosed at 38yrs old and didn't want to listen to the Drs early on and change his diet. He thought they were just pushing meds on him to make money and stopped going. Then it all quickly went downhill for him.

He told me whatever I do listen to them and change the things I eat. Take it serious so I would live a long life unlike him. He was only 56yrs old!!!!

I decided to take my blood level and start being serious. I was 587 and realized I better change fast!!!

I went to my Dr and my AC1 was 11, he put me on metformin twice a day and Lantus before bed and when I wake.

I have finally given up my Pepsi (my addiction) and have changed how I eat.