The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
My name is Gemma and I am not a diabetic. My partner is type 1 and I work as a Registered Nutritionist. Tomorrow I'm doing a lecture on the '7 Steps to Optimal Health' specifically for people with Type 2 diabetes. I will also be holding a retreat for people with Type 2 on the weekend of April 1st - 3rd.

I have a question to anyone that can help me... I would like to know more about insulin-dependent Type ll's. Does the pancreas burn out after long turm insulin resistance? I'm just not sure. Or I could be mistaken when I hear people say their family member shoots insulin but is Type II.

·
Registered
24,394 Posts
Hello Gemma. You are not mistaken about hearing that many type 2 PWD require insulin. But it isn't insulin usage that burns out the pancreata of type 2 PWD, it's usually the barrage of sulfonylurea drugs given to stimulate insulin production in an organ that is already struggling against insulin resistance, which, as you surely already know, is the hallmark of type 2 diabetes. After just so much abuse, the beta cells die off, and Oops! No more endogenous insulin production. This is a fair description of the cure being worse than the cause. It's also a strong argument for sticking with the old tried-and-true drug metformin, which does NOT hammer the pancreas to product more insulin, but instead counters the insulin resistance, helping the cells access the insulin that is already available.

·
Registered
4,368 Posts