The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was diagnosed type1 just over 3months ago. Diagnosis was a bit of a shock, whilst being treated for a back problem I mentioned to the doctor on the off hand how I was feeling a bit strange and he diagnosed me and sent me straight to hospital!!

I'm a soldier in the british army and have had to learn how to manage my bs fast inorder to fit back in with the hectic army life and with all the physical exercise we do....... so far so good.

Not really had much support from the nhs or military to be honest, been left to get on with it and everything I've learnt has been self tought via the web so I'm really glad I found this forum.

Really looking forward being part of the community...

·
Registered
8,607 Posts
I was diagnosed type1 just over 3months ago. Diagnosis was a bit of a shock, whilst being treated for a back problem I mentioned to the doctor on the off hand how I was feeling a bit strange and he diagnosed me and sent me straight to hospital!!

I'm a soldier in the british army and have had to learn how to manage my bs fast inorder to fit back in with the hectic army life and with all the physical exercise we do....... so far so good.

Not really had much support from the nhs or military to be honest, been left to get on with it and everything I've learnt has been self tought via the web so I'm really glad I found this forum.

Really looking forward being part of the community...
Hello Neil,

It's not much fun when you discover something nasty like this, is it?

The bad news is, you're stuck with it for life :(

The good news is, with sensible management, it doesn't need to cramp your style too much. :)

First steps -

• if you smoke - stop!
  • if you're overweight start getting rid of the lard.
  • if you don't exercise - start doing so (I suspect this one won't apply)