The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi. I'm Henry Edwards from Shreveport LA. I've had Type I since, 1989, the year I graduated from College. I've been on the pump since March 2011. Recommend it.

·
Registered
3,024 Posts
Hello Henry, welcome aboard! I'm glad you are having success with your pump. I have pumped for 4 years and wish I had started 20 years earlier. After 65 years with type 1, I am very healthy. If we take good care of ourselves, we can have long, healthy lives.

Richard

·
Registered
741 Posts
Hi and welcome Henry

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thank you, Richard and others

Thanks for the welcome, Richard. I looked at this forum last summer and I enjoyed reading your story, which I gather is now a book. In 22 yrs of Diabetes, I've had decent health, no serious complications, no eye problems yet. Most of my years on MDI, I hovered around 7.0 on the Ha1c, but the last couple of years, those readings have creeped upward, and that lead me to switching to the pump.

On to a related topic, anyone out there have an opinion about the sensor? I did a month of it and I am not convinced it will help my Ha1c much. It's not accurate, so I end up doing more fingersticks since I don't believe anything it says (maybe that's the real reason it's supposed to lower your Ha1c!).

Hello Henry, welcome aboard! I'm glad you are having success with your pump. I have pumped for 4 years and wish I had started 20 years earlier. After 65 years with type 1, I am very healthy. If we take good care of ourselves, we can have long, healthy lives.

Richard

·
Registered
3,024 Posts