The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was diagnosed in March with Type II. It came as quite a shock. I am 59, 5'6"and I weigh 140 lbs. I am an amateur athlete and I run, bike, hike and/or walk at least 90 minutes every day. My fasting BGL is usually about 95 ml/dl, and my highest reading was 150 (bad day). My wife and I eat very healthy, and neither of us takes drugs of any sort--ok, except vitamins.
I apparently owe my diabetes to a year-long trip to Vietnam I took over 40 years ago--Agent Orange took its toll. We suspect that only my healthy lifestyle held diabetes off this long. So here's my dilemma:
I'm used to "carb loading" to fuel my exercise. Bread, pasta, etc. Have been my staples. Now, according to my testing, they're taboo. What do I eat to replace those foods, keep my energy up, and not jack my blood sugar sky high? I want to keep my figures low so I can avoid all the damage that goes with ignoring this disease and living "life as usual".

Thanks.

Roger

·
Registered
2,771 Posts
I was diagnosed in March with Type II. It came as quite a shock. I am 59, 5'6"and I weigh 140 lbs. I am an amateur athlete and I run, bike, hike and/or walk at least 90 minutes every day. My fasting BGL is usually about 95 ml/dl, and my highest reading was 150 (bad day). My wife and I eat very healthy, and neither of us takes drugs of any sort--ok, except vitamins.
I apparently owe my diabetes to a year-long trip to Vietnam I took over 40 years ago--Agent Orange took its toll. We suspect that only my healthy lifestyle held diabetes off this long. So here's my dilemma: