The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
im a software programmer. in the last year i got diagnosed with type 2 diabetes, neuropathy, lost a job, got and got dumped. i lost about 50 pounds before i realized i had diabetes, the doctor didn't pick it up somehow. i did get a new job, but the drugs from the neuropathy mess me up pretty badly considering i have to be able to think for a living. i don't really have any family, and i'm finding it is getting hard to even care much about controlling it, except that it causes a lot of pain. and i don't tolerate most of the things they try to give me for the neuropathy. they don't stop pain they just make me sick.

·
Super Moderator
6,161 Posts
Welcome to the forum, though I'm sorry for the problems you're having that brought you here.

I don't have neuropathy, but I do take neurontin for pain and it's one of the meds in my sleep mix. Is that what you're taking? One of the side effects is sleepiness, is that what you're experiencing? I know it has a relatively short half-life and docs tend to want the blood level to be maintained via taking it several times/day.

Are you being treated for depression? Getting help for depression doesn't make problems go away, but it can help putting them in perspective and providing the ability to cope with and manage them. I'm wondering if you could seek out a diabetes support group in your area? Perhaps the local hospital or your doc might know of some resources? Just throwing out ideas ... dealing with the blues is a good first step in dealing with your diabetes.

Glad you're here.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Welcome to the forum, though I'm sorry for the problems you're having that brought you here.