The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, just new to the forum, yet another newbie. Look forward to reading your posts, learning, and sharing - hopefully.

·
Registered
8,795 Posts
Hi there...tell us more about yourself! We love new friends. Lots of wisdom here and you may want to nose around the forum...some great sounding recipes and lots of knowledge to learn from.

Glad you came,

Pat

·
Registered
1,476 Posts
Hi, iCurteye. Guess I'm the nosey one around here 'cause I'm curious to know what type you are, when you were diagnosed, if you are on any meds, what type of diet plan you are on and anything else you are willing to share.

For learning & sharing, you came to the right place. Welcome to the forum.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thx Pat. I am a Chef by trade and was diagnosed as a Type 2 Diabetic almost 3 years ago now.

It was a wake up call. I knew I was over weight, thought I knew food due to my trade, however, carb intake was over the top.

Since then I have dropped 30 pounds, exercise regularly and monitor carb intake.

My goal is to come off my Metformin (twice a day) as my blood test glucose tests every 3 months have come back as 'perfect'.

Just have not made the move yet.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Hi gizmo

Some if your questions are answered above.

I don't follow a 'diet', rather I count carbs and ensure the carbs I am allotted fir in a day a spread out through 3 meals and two snacks during the day.

My next step will be to continue that, but to take into consideration caloric intake to drop some more weight.

I have also chosen NOT to have any sweets if any kind as the sugar jumps the carb count.

The last thing is I guess I ensure any carb has fiber in it, so no 'white' breads.

·
Super Moderator
6,162 Posts
I am a Chef by trade