The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just a quick note and intro, I have had type II since 1986, always been on some form of medication, changed several times over the years. Just recently my bg has gone as high as 380 at 7 am. Since it has fallen to 137.
I am 63 fairly active around the house and shop but have a desk job with little or no activity. I started riding a stationary bike 3 times a week for 5 miles, the other days on weights. My levels go up significantly if I miss a day. Diet is pretty consistant. Still puzzled at the signifacant change that seems to be due to lack of exercise on one missed morning. I wonder if anyone else had this experience in the past. Thanks in advance. Eric

·
Registered
4,368 Posts
Hi Eric, welcome to DF. Can you tell us what medications you are on or insulins? Was that 380 a fasting number or an after meal number? I have always exercised even well before diabtes. One thing I have found when I started to test after exercise is that I spike significantly with exercise. It was explained to me it was from stress hormones during exercise. So I have switched up some of my exercise routines to shorter workouts more often. I try to avoid the 2-3 hour workout and opt for 60 minutes twice a day. The benefits of exercise should last well into the next day. I find it takes me about 4 hours to come down but my bgs will stay lower for 24-48 hours. In fact somedays if I skip exercise my bgs are actually lower. Can you tell us a little about your diet and what types of carbs you normally eat? Being diabetic is sometimes like being a medical detective to try to figure out all the quirks of this disease.

Reactions: Spunky

·
Registered
24,394 Posts
Hello & welcome, Eric. I agree with jwags - if you want to tell us a little more about your meds & your way-of-eating . . . we just need a few more clues to crack this case. ;)