The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there, this is my first time posting. I, personally don't have diabetes, but my father does. He's borderline type two, with his natural blood sugar reading at about 18 or so. His doctor has put him on insulin and he's supposed to take it 15 minutes before dinner - but he takes it afterwards. I have some medical knowledge (I took a rudmentary course in school) so I am aware of the risks and such; I think what happened tonight will make him change his ways!
He had a moderate hypoglycemic attack (are the attacks?). His blood sugar was 2.3 (it is normal when he is on the insulin), he was barely coherent, shaking and sweaty. I gave him some sugar water, some juice and some chocolate. I think I gave him too much! This is my worry - can he become hyperglycemic very quicky? It took about half an hour for his blood sugar to become normal (4.9) again. I'm worried that he'll end up being hyperglycemic and we won't catch it (and he is currently asleep - it is the middle of the night here). What are the chances of him becoming hyperglycemic in a fice hour span? I believe he takes more insulin in the morning, so all I really have to worry about is the initial five hours.

Please help!

·
Registered
1,077 Posts
Hi Mini: :)

Welcome!

Do you mean your Father's sugar level is 18.0mmol/l at a normal testing??
If so, that is Very high(hyperglycemia). He is not borderline Diabetic but a
true Diabetic.

I can't know whether he will go high or low in his sugar level since I have no idea how much Insulin total that he has taken today or what types. It certainly is possible for his sugar to rise in 5 hours time especially if he does not use a long-acting(basal)Insulin. Is it possible for you to go to your Father and test his sugar level now without waking him? That will tell us both where he stands.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
hi there!