The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, my name is Brandon and I am a 19-year old college student. I have had diabetes for 11 years and have had minimal problems with it.

Recently, I have been feeling incredibly strange lately. My blood sugars have been low and then high. However, whenever I feel high, like within the low 200's range, I would feel as if I have a blood sugar of 60, as if I was hypoglycemic. Whenever I have a normal blood sugar like 134, I would feel as if my blood sugar was 350, which feels really strange to me.:(

I have no idea what's going on, I've just heard that it may be my body still reacting to my up-and-down blood sugars, but this has been happening for the past couple of days and my blood sugars have been okay.

Not sure when I'm scheduled to see my doctor, but my parents are getting me an appointment ASAP.

·
Registered
24,394 Posts
Uuumm, Brandon? How do you manage your diabetes? MDI? Pump? What other tricks do you use when trying to corral your wild blood sugars? Those are some really wild swings, seems to me.

Welcome aboard . . . hope we can help. There are plenty of type 1 folks here who will surely have a few ideas.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
i am currently on a insulin pump using only Humalog. Right now I am 300 and I feel low and have no idea what to do. Bolus and correct? I have the fear of running low, therefore intensifying the strange feeling that I have now.

·
Registered
5,399 Posts
I'm on MDI, not a pump -- but yeah, I'd definitely correct. Were you given a scale of correction doses for different levels?

Highs and lows can share some symptoms.

Please keep us posted!

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #5