The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My name is Zack, I am 51 years old and was diagnosed with Type 2 Diabetes about 2 years ago. For most of the past two years I have taken my metformin, lisinopril, and simvastatin pretty religiously. About four months ago I stopped taking them. I have no health insurance so I was paying cash for my doctor visits. It got pretty expensive because he wanted a lot of tests done to see how my meds were affecting my kidney and liver functions. Living paycheck to paycheck as a restaurant manager I finally just stopped going when I ran out of my scripts. I know this was a stupid idea and I've made an appointment to see the doctor. I'm sure there are many people in my situation (make too much money for welfare but not enough to pay for it myself). Anyway, I came across this forum and there seems to be a lot of nice people on here sharing info. Since I was diagnosed noone in my family (including me) mention my diabetes. It's weird but the one person I can talk to (an aunt) feels that by threatening me with amputation stories, I will finally lose weight and "get on the right track". I weigh about 300 lbs and I'm 6'1" and work about 55 hours a week. Even though I'm a hard worker I really don't get a lot of exercise in my job. Lately, I've noticed some numbness in my feet and I know it's not good and I worry constantly about the future and where this might lead. So, I've decided that I want to fight this disease - I realize it's a progressive disease but I know I can affect it's progression. This forum is a good start for learning and resources. I'm not used to "spilling my guts" but I'm glad this space on the internet is here and I'm looking for friends to make this journey with. Thanks Zack

·
Registered
1,491 Posts
Hi and welcome