The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good day everyone,
This is my first time on this site and I am anxious to get started and learn as much as I can, as well as give whatever I have to offer.

I was diagnosed about 3 years ago and am definitely still learning how to manage my day to day.

I have a dual diagnosis, I guess, with Type 2 and PCOS. I guess one begets the other or it's just a genetic bum deal.

Most of the women on my mothers side have suffered diabetes. It was always something that I was extremely concerned about and made strong efforts to avoid through diet and exercise.

About 5 years ago I was a competitive amateur kickboxer and a marathon runner. It felt like one day I woke up and I just couldn't do it anymore. I was weak, I was exhausted all the time, I gained 20lbs seemingly overnight, I couldn't stop eating, I just wanted to sleep. But I was young and not overweight, so it took 2 more years to get diagnosed. By that time my kidneys, and liver were in jeopardy, my cholesterol was 9, I was anemic and suffered from vitamin deficiency.

Metformin was a really good start to get alot of things under control. I am now in a really good place in terms of blood, kidneys, cholesterol etc. My biggest complaints occur on the days when I don't manage my diet as well as I should and am tired for 2 or three days. Otherwise I feel I am on track...

I am 30 now and have started back at the gym this past month. I finally have the were with all to start working out in a full time capacity again. I would love to talk to anyone else who manages training, blood sugars etc.

Take care and be well everyone.
:)

·
Registered
14 Posts
Hi welcome to the community There are alot of great people and wonderful information that I help will be useful to you. It is a pleasure to meet you

steve from PA

·
Registered
3,024 Posts