The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
1,557 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have ingrown toenails on both large toes. My Podiatrist has recommended that I have a procedure which will hopefully relieve the pain I have. I've been putting it off for months, but finally decided to go ahead with it.

I'm not particularly fond of the idea of the numbing jabs, but what does concern me is the possibility of infection setting in after the procedure. He has given me a Rx for an antibiotic to be started two days prior to the procedure and for 7 days after. Also, what will keep the remaining portion of the nails from trying to grow curved and causing another ingrown nail?

·
Registered
916 Posts
ok I can tell you something about this. I have been a manicurist/nail tech for over 20 yrs.

IF there is no infection a nail tech can & should put acrylic on your toe's. I swear lol. it will make your nail grow out straight not curved down into the skin. It will relieve the pain & you will not have them again. Oh & you must MUST go to a good salon. Not a discount walk in place.
I only charged $10. for this.:D
HTH.

BTW you should find yourself a good pedicurist..

·
Registered
916 Posts
Those are obscene, IMO. :) And how do you do anything when wearing them? :D
for one thing beauty is in the eye of the beholder. Plus I agree with you. In all the yrs sitting behind that nail table I never ever did a nail that didn't look naturel. I find those 'other' nails to be gaudy unsanitary & just downright ugly.I refused to do them.

as for up keep its only 1 toe nail or both.then all you do is file it yourself. it takes a really really long time fo them to grow down.

a naturel color is worn plus they are just a overlay & should not extended over the edge of the toe. I have done hundreds of them, on men too. :D

·
Registered
1,557 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·