The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just curious if anyone checks their blood sugar or those needing pre-meal insulin do it in public (like at a restaurant or at work)? I'm new at this and feel kind of awkward doing it in front of people, but I also don't like having to run to the bathroom all the time.

·
Registered
1,095 Posts
I dont care where I am if I need to check my BG or have to take insulin. But I do try to do it as discrete as possible.

·
Registered
24,394 Posts
Hi Cary . . . I don't have to worry about insulin yet, but if I need to test before a restaurant meal, I can make it quick handling the paraphernalia in my lap beneath the level of the table. In fact, in a booth I turn a little sideways too, which is even more hidden.

Having taken many meals with my insulin-dependent type 1.5 brother-in-law, I know he just lifts his t-shirt under the edge of the table, pops his tummy with the pen & if we didn't know, we couldn't tell, he does it so quickly. You'll get good at it too . . . don't worry.

·
Registered
5,911 Posts
I do. I am now injecting through my clothes, too. I wear all cotton knits, so it works fine. If you act too surreptitious, people may notice that.

I just go about it -- and if anyone notices it is extra PR for the cause.

·
Registered
261 Posts
I check and inject in public. Like the others said it can be easy, quick and discreet.
I too inject through my clothing when I'm out.
I'm enjoying my pen much more than the old vials and syringes I used to carry around.

·
Registered
2,055 Posts