The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here.

I have been a diabetic for the past 25 years (Type 1) and in the last six months began using the Medtronic Minimed. My Hemoglobin A1c have gone from a 7.7 to a 6.1, so I and my doctor consider me in good control with no complications. However, I have sporadic and terrible insomnia lasting for a week, then going away. Has anyone else with in-control Type 1 diabetes had this type of insomnia, or could the cause be something else?

·
Registered
3,024 Posts
Hello, welcome to our community! That is very good that you have been T1 for 25 years, have an A1c of 6.1 and have no complications. Congratulations!

I have been T1 for 63 years and I am very healthy but I have hadsome mild complications wich are no longer bothering me since I started pumping insulin.

I have insomnia if my blood sugar goes too low during the night. With pumping my comfort range is 80-120. If I drop below 80 during the night I have trouble sleeping so I test and eat a small snack or one or twoglucose tablets. In less than 20 minutes I am sleeping again. What do you think is causing YOUR insomnia? Some people have stress that causes them insomnia. There are many other things that could interfere with your sleep. Good luck!

Richard

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the reply.

My situation has gotten a bit worse. After dealing with the insomnia for several sleepless nights, I decided enough was enough and took two over-the-counter sleeping pills about an hour before bed. The next thing I remember is waking up on the floor in pain with my wife standing over me, looking very worried and feeding me juice. I see the emergency glucose shot sitting nearby, as-yet unused and decide that I must have had severe low blood-sugar. I had had a seizure, and my wife had helped me back to normal.