The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I just wanted to introduce myself. I'm not diabetic, but I work in health care and see so many people with diabetes coming through the doors. I have a background in preventive health - studying how people make positive changes for their health, and I thought joining diabetesforum might help offer me some insight into people's struggles and successes. Thanks,
Elaine

·
Registered
24,394 Posts
Good idea, Elaine . . . you might find a few pearls of wisdom around here, eh? I think you're right. :)

One of the biggest obstacles faced by diabetic patients is the medical team that doesn't have a clue. Their knowledge is all "book-learnin'", and not being diabetic themselves, they can make some outrageous judgements/demands on unsuspecting patients who are trying to follow instructions to control BG - methods which don't work, have never worked, and which can do harm if continued for very long. Just being willing to keep an open mind would make such a difference in relationships with patients.

Thank you for joining us . . . I hope we are of some help to you.

·
Registered
2,771 Posts
Hi, I just wanted to introduce myself. I'm not diabetic, but I work in health care and see so many people with diabetes coming through the doors. I have a background in preventive health - studying how people make positive changes for their health, and I thought joining diabetesforum might help offer me some insight into people's struggles and successes. Thanks,
Elaine
Hello and welcome to the forum! Reading posts should give you insight on what it is like to have diabetes. It is really helpful to have diabetes. Diabetes affects everyone differently. Read our stories and ask questions, we will try and answer your questions. Take care and visit often!

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Hi,