The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've seen various brands of Keto bread that claim zero "net carbs", and I'm somewhat skeptical in their claims. One brand in particular lists 15 grams of carbohydrates with 15 grams of fiber which is supposed to negate the carbohydrates.
Is there merit to these kind of breads? I'm new to the watching the carbs thing and bread has been one of my weaknesses. I know the flavor is not going to be the same, but if close it could be a benefit in planning diet.

Thanks

·
Super Moderator
1,857 Posts
Most of those breads use special ingredients and "creative accounting" to be zero-carb. To use (U.S.) Aldi's zero-carb bread as an example, one of the magic ingredients is "modified wheat starch". Wheat, of course, contains carbohydrates. But this starch is chemically altered in such a way that it is not completely digested by humans. Ssome undetermined amount is digested, however (and it, of course, does what highly-processed carbohydrates do in the body).

In addition, food producers only have to provide a nutritional breakdown for a "serving" of the food. In the case of the Aldi bread, that's one slice. And the government allows rounding errors and the ability to list something as free of <whatever> if there's less than a certain amount of it in one serving. If you eat a two-slice sandwich, you probably will see more than double of zero grams of carbohydrates because of the rounding of numbers and the double serving.