The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi...this is my first post. I sent an email to the manufacturer of the Levemir pen but they won't get it until 1/3/12. My doctor started me on the Levemir pen 12/1/11 at one dose. He said to go up one dose every other day. When I got to 15 dose strength I got a new pen. I can not push the button down. I am now at 16 and when I push the button down I only get 8, then I reinject and push 8 and get only 3. I am very discouraged. I simply can't push the button in although on the first pen I remember having no problem with 14. Any help please? Thank you.

·
Registered
370 Posts
I'm not familiar with that pen as I use the Lantus Solostar. I suspect that you may be doing something incorrectly. Why not ask your Pharmacist? They maybe able to help.

·
Registered
24,394 Posts
Hello, silkywings. I have no experience with injecting insulin, but Tim's suggestion to ask your pharmacist is a good idea. And thank you for joining us - do visit often and share with us more about yourself & how you manage your diabetes.

·
Registered
76 Posts
i use the levemir pen, i sometime have a hard time taking a shot with the pen, but nothing of this caliber, normally when i do have trouble, i will press the button, and as the plunger is working, it will slow down, stop, i will release, then press it again, and it will go down 3 or 4 units, stop and then i will start again and it will finish. it does not do this all the time, but it works like this everytime i do have the trouble. i notice i normally have this problem if i try to inject in scar tissue or if i dont allow the pen to come to room temp before injecting the first innjection with the pen.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·