The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm going on Medicare in January and I have a meter question for the group. I have been using a FreeStyle Lite for the last several years without issue. I especially liked the software package that allowed to me download BG readings and bring 90 day reports to my doc. Medicare/United Health will not provide test strips for my FreeStyle Lite. UH will only provide for Accu-Chek® or OneTouch® brands. My question is: which one have members had good luck with?

·
Administrator
2,266 Posts
Hi, gerryyy, haven't seen you post in a while!

I have no experience with either brand of meter so I can't offer much help there. But I'll throw in an alternate thinking point: that if you like the meter you have (or the software or whatever) it might be worth keeping it and just buying the strips yourself. There are many things Medicare doesn't cover; this would simply be one of them.

It looks like strips for the Freestyle Lite run about US$1.20 each if you buy them on-line from someplace reputable. Not cheap necessarily, but if you like things as they are, it might be an option for you. Just a thought.

·
Super Moderator
10,152 Posts
I'm unfamiliar with Accu-Chek but currently use a OneTouch Verio Flex meter. I use it because my insurance wouldn't cover Contour but it has been a good meter so far. The meter will bluetooth readings to the OneTouch Reveal app on my phone. The app does let you share 14, 30, or 90 day reports via email or print copy. I've never used that feature though. Also not familiar with the FreeStyle, so can't offer comparison of either apps report formats.

I hate it that insurance can dictate medicines or medical supplies.

·
Registered
3,674 Posts